Blues For Beginners? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-31-2007, 11:57 PM Thread Starter

Blues For Beginners?

Hi Folks,

I've been playing for about 2 years now, and have focused on the melodic rock/metal side of things. I recently bought a Peavey Valve-King and a Boss Blues Driver. I plan on get into bit of the gritty blues-rock like some of the easier Satriani (or simplified by me...lol) tunes, but I would like to try something COMPLETELY of the rock "field". Some completely fresh. For example, I'm thinking of those old-time blues players in smokey bars down in New Orleans (before the flood), and what they play. Preferably songs in a minor key. I haven't really listened to any of that stuff before, since I don't have any in my music collection. I don't know where to start. I need to be pointed in the right direction.

In terms of my playing ability, or lack thereof (for now), here is what I have accomplished so far:

-simple guitar solos (Hysteria-era Leppard, You Love A Bad Name-Bon Jovi)
-fast powerchord changes (Maiden...e.g. the verse of Ace's High)
-non-diatonic powerchord changes and melodies (Sabbath)
-melodies/harmonies (particulary 80's Maiden)
-pedal riffs
-a few non-powerchord diads like M3, P4, b5, M/m6 on rare occasions
-arpeggiated chords like the verse to Def Leppard's Hysteria and Black Sabbath's Planet Caravan

I am weak (read: can't do) on full-throttle traditional solos, triads, barre-chords, suspended/extended chords.

I hope that I've indicated what I can/can't do adequately so that recommendations can be formulated. Lastly, I usually download my tabs in Powertab format from the Ultimate Guitar website.

Does anyone have any recommendations for me?

Thanks in advance. Cheers.