Counterpoint - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 02:01 PM Thread Starter

Counterpoint

'Ello, folks! I'm currently studying Johann Joseph Fux's Gradus Ad Parnassum and I've run into a wee bit of a snag. In his book, Fux says, and I quote "... the cantus firmus is in D (la, sol, re) 4, as the beginning and conclusion show, and you started with G (sol, re, ut), you have obviously forced the beginning out of the mode." I'm slowly beginning to get a grip on what this means, but I think I need a deeper explanation.

Also, down below in a footnote, it says "4 This quadruple denomination of the same tone derives from the old distribution of the tones into three hexachords", and then proceeds to give three examples, the hard hexachord, the soft hexachord, and the natural hexachord.

As far as I can tell, the la, sol, re of the cantus firmus (D), as the footnote goes on to explain, ut, re, mi, fa, sol, and la was the customary way to indicate the degrees of a tone in the hexachords.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 02:07 PM

Re: Counterpoint

(in my best Dangerfield voice) ....the answer is, 4??????

Last edited by satchmo72; 06-01-2015 at 02:19 PM.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 02:19 PM Thread Starter

Hehheh! I put that in there so people would understand that the footnote was written because of the cantus firmus being in D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by satchmo72 View Post
....the answer is 4??????
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 02:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel "D-Boy" View Post
Hehheh! I put that in there so people would understand that the footnote was written because of the cantus firmus being in D.