Details on pick holding - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-17-2012, 03:01 PM Thread Starter

Details on pick holding

Hello every1. As you can see I'm totally new here (although I used to read some threads here, from time to time). I promised myself I would never, ever sign up on any guitar forum, cause I am already wasting more than enough time on the net, and also I don't feel like I have anything to say, as I am still a rookie GP. However, this thing has been bothering me for the last couple weeks so I finally decided to ask you guys, before I go nuts.

Now, It's been almost 2 years, since I got my first electric (with about 3 years of playing ****ty classical guitar prior to that), and about 7 months ago I started really working on alternate picking (mainly focusing on "the 5 picking mechanics" from T. Stetina's book, which I admire, btw). I have managed to overcome a lot of problems by myself (holding the pick, not angling it by 45 degrees, stressing arms and fingers, and so on...). Just one thing remains untamed.

I've watched dozens of instructional videos, read tons of stuff on the net, but nobody seems to mention the angle of the pick against the BODY OF THE GUITAR. When I started, I had problems with going to the higher string with a downstroke(inside picking, I guess), so I started to hold the pick leaning to the floor a little, so it was easier, now I see it doesn't help when I'm working on consistant alternate picking motion on a single string (apparently upstrokes seem harder).