good at improvising, terible at learning songs - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 08:20 AM Thread Starter

good at improvising, terible at learning songs

hey, ive been playing guitar for 2 years. i am really good at improvising and making my own solos but i super suck at learning songs...i probably only know 10 whole songs only. i try to learn songs completely by looking at tab but when it gets to the hard part i always end up improvising again...
can you help me with my problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 08:37 AM

Re: good at improvising, terible at learning songs

Are you genuinely interested in learning and playing these songs, but are just lazy? Or are you more interested in making your own music, and have no real desire to learn these songs you write about?

Either way, it'll pay off for you to knuckle down and do it. Developing musically often means staying out of a rut. Even if you are a player mainly interested in one genre, forcing yourself to learn new pieces or styles will aid your music.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 09:06 AM Thread Starter

ive been wanting to learn these songs forever but just couldn't..
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 09:17 AM

Reviews: 37
Smile Re: good at improvising, terible at learning songs

we are in the same boat. I too do this but am learning small parts of songs, this helps me since learning whole songs is too hard for me , and i love freestyling it's just funner. I think its a memory thing for me , and i lack the motivation to learn some ones whole b.s. Its amazing how 2 or 3 minutes worth of guitar can take 2 to 3 months to learn.
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 09:31 AM