Grades - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 01:54 PM Thread Starter

Grades

picture the scene ... my first session with my first guitar teacher.... (after being self taught for 1 1/2 years) he asks me to show him what i can do, so i go straight into Satch Boogie pull it off perfectly and he says "wow"! He then tells me I should go for a "Concert Grade" but tells me I need Grade 8......... so off I go to practise

Is anyone else doing and grades? and has anyone got a concert grade?

Im so happy at the moment, cos I thought I was pretty average.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 02:10 PM

woo! good for you dude! 1.5 years and satch boogie perfectly? impressive! go get that concert grade!
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 02:35 PM Thread Starter

satch boogie is pretty easy cos of the repetitions.... i really want to learn devils slide , but dont have the engines of creation book
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-23-2003, 09:35 AM

I don't know how the electric grades go, they brought them in a while after I finished training. I have classical grade 8 and what I presume is a "concert grade", an ALCM, Associate of the London College of Music, diploma.

This involved a high level of theoretical work (as did grade 8, in my time ('94) you would have had to pass Grade 5 Theory before you did Grade 8 Theory before you did Grade 8 ), plus a written exam on music theory.