Hand positions and memorizing songs. - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-20-2012, 01:03 PM Thread Starter

Hand positions and memorizing songs.

Hi, Folks.

I got two questions for you all. I figure I'll just throw in on one post.

1) I've been playing for over 15 years now and I was just getting back into lessons with a buddy of mine. He was the first one to ever mention the problem. He claims that I'm raising my fingers to high when I play and I'm using the wrong muscles. Now, how could I fix that? I keep doing what he says to do but I can't seem to break this bad habit.

2) Even though I've been playing for that long I still have trouble memorizing songs. I don't know if my memory isn't good enough but I really want to start a band.

If you have any tips for both I really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance.

Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-30-2012, 10:57 AM

Re: Hand positions and memorizing songs.

regarding your questions:
1. There is no other way to fix a wrong (sorry for the word) "technique" but just to adjust and work on it. If you have been playing for 15 years then it would really take time to adjust how you do stuff and as always patience. It's reprogramming your memory muscles all over again.