How to get that Satch sound on garageband? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 863
How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Hey guys, since garageband has updated and changed I am unsure of the best preset and levels to use to get a Satriani like sound. Has anyone messed around and found something similar?

Brett
Verus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 02:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,511
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

I have gone over this in my head and then started asking those who really know.

The answer:

Software (the 21st century answer)...but isn't there more than one way to do it?

Yes, but narrowing down to what to buy and finding time to do it is the hardest part.

I jam with a music computer software guy who can get any sound pretty quickly with his $500-$1,000 dollar software music suites but the talent is what he got from his 4 year music industry degree. Short of enrolling in an expensive university program on how to record and get sounds, then make it a serious hobby where you don't mind delayed gratification.

His best advice when I mentioned wanting this tone or that tone (on guitar) he mentioned start with the basics (Macbook Pro and large studio monitor 30" inch or so, and not focus on guitar or amp that much) and then pick among a whole host of suites (where the guitar sounds definitely are) but commit to one or two suites at most and put in the time to learn how to tweak it. That's the core you can't do without. Other suites, monitors, speakers, soundproofing, all come later and a lot of that is personal preference.

Once in with good computer/music setup, it's incredibly daunting learning the software and it takes a long time to take a guitar signal direct and shape it, but shape it you can in so many ways you can't with amp and stomp box effects. It's like a factory where it takes time to set up but once there, you can really start producing sounds you like easily with consistency. Consistency is not always there with stomp box effects and a certain sound you dial in one day may not be easy to replicate.

Now all that being said, I have seen where a serious songwriter or guitar player gets into the software computing side so much that their music starts sounding like a muzak chip. Their brain gets so focused on the technical that they actually lose their creativity and even drive for creativity. Just a warning.

Last edited by 63Blazer; 12-28-2014 at 03:03 PM.
63Blazer is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-28-2014, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 863
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Thanks Blazer, that was a great response. For now I'm looking for possible presets in garageband to sound closer to satch's sound.
Verus is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-29-2014, 12:48 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Get Amplitube 3 and then use a Marshall 6100 or JVM to get Joe's sound along with a DS-1 and two delays.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-29-2014, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 863
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Thanks for the response. Do you have a preset file?
Verus is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-04-2015, 01:34 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verus View Post
Thanks for the response. Do you have a preset file?
Honestly, presets are useless for everything other than a starting point. Something that would work really well for me for trying to get a particular set of sound, with my touch on the instrument, my pickups, my guitar and the woods it's made out of, etc, may not work at all for you.

Just setting up that chain - DSL, 6100 or JVM, two stereo delays set to different repeats,4x12 - should get you in the right ballpark and then adjust gain and EQ to taste so it sounds right with YOUR gear.
Drew is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-04-2015, 10:35 PM Thread Starter
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 863
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Thanks for the response Drew. I'm just not very familiar with software solutions. I'm not the best with adjusting and setting up presets but I'll keep your info in mind!
Verus is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 12:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
Re: How to get that Satch sound on garageband?

Neither am I (I've dabbled a bit with VST modelers but record using a real amp), but a lot of them are pretty user friendly - they try to replicate the "signal chain" of your guitar into the microphone, so you just set them up like you would a "real" setup - put a distortion pedal in line before your amp, a delay after your amp, etc.

Really, you don't even have to deal with the delay in the modeler/VST - you can just add a delay in whatever your DAW is (Garageband here, though Reaper is worth a try if you don't mind experimenting with a new platform).

On the cheap, LePou makes some pretty good stuff:

http://lepouplugins.blogspot.com/

...which has the advantage of being free. The HyBrit looks Marshall-y, and while I've never tried it, it'd be a good starting point. Run that into LeCab, and put a delay plugin on top of it set for a spacious stereo ping-pong delay.

I don't know if there's a DS1 emulation available for free on the net, but here's a popular Tube Screamer:

http://www.kvraudio.com/news/tse-aud...-au-free-21827

...which will get you in the right ballpark for a boosted marshall sound. Also, if you own a DS1, there's no reason you can't use a real DS1 and then run from the DS1 output into your recording interface, and then feed that signal into an amp sim.
Drew is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satch-heads, here's a sound formula. Randy G Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 11 05-07-2006 02:26 PM
Garageband... Infinite Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 0 04-16-2004 07:07 PM
podxt sound for satch style phienix Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! 3 11-19-2003 06:29 AM
can jem play deep bluezy sound and satch's??? strat Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 24 07-23-2003 03:59 PM
Getting that Satch sound with your DS-1? Lonely Raven Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 06-18-2002 08:24 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome