Just Getting Into Maiden - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

Just Getting Into Maiden

So I'm just getting into Iron Maiden, and I'm trying to figure out how to tell who is playing the guitar solos. Are they panned, if so who's on each side?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 09:10 PM
ZJH

Re: Just Getting Into Maiden

Well, to be vague, it's either Adrian Smith or Dave Murray playing a given solo. lol

But you might wanna look at some booklets or something to find out who's playing which solo. I can't remember off the top of my head.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 09:47 PM

Adrian Smith and Dave Murray are great players.
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 10:05 PM
ZJH

Wish I could say the same about Janick Gers. lol
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 10:45 PM

Go get a live video and watch. I have a DVD of "live after death" that rocks.
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-06-2005, 03:18 AM

If the solo sounds "flutey" it's Dave. He almost exclusively plays solos on the neck pickup.
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-06-2005, 03:47 AM

yeah dave solos on neck all the time. im seeing them at ozzfest on the 20th of this month, gunna be sick
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-06-2005, 04:45 AM

if its fast, fluid and bluesy-its probably dave

if its slower, more considered sounding, and a bit less bluesly-its probably adrian

if its fast and slightly atonal sounding-its janick
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-06-2005, 06:49 AM

Can tell from the guitar sounds as well, especially on their old albums.