Learning Scales and Modes - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-01-2007, 04:09 AM Thread Starter

Learning Scales and Modes

I am just beginning to learn about scales and modes, and was wondering if anyone had some helpful advice on how to approach this. I've bought a lot of books, but not exactly sure where to begin other than starting with the major scale. I have bought the Guitar Fretboard Workbook which seems to help writing out the exercises for me.

Any tips that have worked for you? It is very important to me that I learn this. I don't really know where to begin. Do I just start memorizing and playing? I do have a speedy memory. I have learned so far about the 5 basic root note patterns and how to ascend down a string a half and whole step. Hopefully nobody mocks the beginner here, but we all had to start somewhere.

I did have the guy at the music shop tell me he was working on memorizing one scale/mode per week. Is this overkill or a good idea?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-01-2007, 05:10 AM

Reviews: 6
Re: Learning Scales and Modes

The first scale i learnt was the A minor pentatonic (very common scale in rock music) thats a good one to learn easy as well you'll know it in a minute (seriously), and my teacher also gave me another six to learn which were the A,B,D,E,F#,G major scales and i thought i also might learn the C locrian as well (i got these in about a week and a bit). All those scales except for the A and B all follow the same pattern there just played in other places on the fretboard.