Learning to Shred?...... - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-02-2003, 12:44 PM Thread Starter

Learning to Shred?......

Hi there. Ive been playing the guitar for a couple of years now. Ive only really been playing simple Metallica riffs, and the odd solo. I wouldn’t say I was good compared to some people by any means, but i am able enough.
I want to start to build my speed up and get a better technique rather than playing crap riffs all the time.
What stuff would people recommend to starting out with? Scales?, song? techniques? . Im the type of person that loves to play the guitar, but if i look at a certain practice technique that is very boring ill put the guitar down and go and do something else

All help appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-03-2003, 08:40 AM

Learn the major scale all over the fretboard, in every mode, in every key. Learn 3 and 4 note coils (ascending and descending). Play them using alternate picking and sweep picking, and pick every note. That's what I did (also with harmonic minor and pentatonic), and it makes playing other people's shred stuff much easier. Just my $0.02.
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-03-2003, 11:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShredOrDead
Learn the major scale all over the fretboard, in every mode, in every key. Learn 3 and 4 note coils (ascending and descending). Play them using alternate picking and sweep picking, and pick every note. That's what I did (also with harmonic minor and pentatonic), and it makes playing other people's shred stuff much easier. Just my $0.02.
I agree.