Lesson 7: Part A, soloing over chord changes. - be afraid, b - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-09-2001, 06:11 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 5
Lesson 7: Part A, soloing over chord changes. - be afraid, b

Lesson 7: Part A, soloing over chord changes
________

We're going to take this slowly for two reasons. *A. *This is where the level of comprehension for theory really become demanding, and B. *I'm a college student going through a week of 4 Exams, so I can't write all of this today, but we'll get started . *

Now there are basically two approaches to soloing in a real world context. *What I mean by that is that there are very few times when someone in your band will hit an A Major chord and say, "Just solo over this dude!" *Most of the time, we must play over a chord progression. *For instance, say you've got a mean run worked out in E Lydian. *As long as you play over E, it sounds great, but when you continue playing over other chords, it begins sounding a bit strange. *This goes back to the confusion in the last thread regarding modes. *The flavor (Mixolydian, Lydian, Phrygian) of a Mode is dependent upon what context it is played in. *Thus a D Major scale sound like E Dorian over a E chord.

So the idea here is either A. *choose one or more scales which sound good over all the different chords in the progression, OR to change modes with the progression. *Neither one is simple, but it's probably best to approach the first method I outlined.