Are Lessons worthwhile.. for me? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-26-2009, 02:41 PM Thread Starter

Are Lessons worthwhile.. for me?

Hey all... I'm back into the guitar scene again... played multiple hours a day for 4 years straight, took 3 years off, now am finished with school and back again... I feel like my chops are coming back, but i know theres still a lot I don't know, as i was always self taught. I'm wondering if you folks feel finding a good teacher would be worthwhile in my case, or if i'd simply be better off picking up a couple of books and going through them on my own?

Never had a teacher, and so just wondering how those of you who have (and haven't) feel about the topic?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-26-2009, 03:28 PM
ME.

Re: Are Lessons worthwhile.. for me?

Find a teacher. He'll help you answer questions you didn't even know you had.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-26-2009, 03:41 PM

A good teacher is always a great idea.
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-26-2009, 04:42 PM

Another vote for a good teacher here, even if it's just for the theory. Makes it a lot easier.
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-26-2009, 09:43 PM

Reviews: 2

I say spend $70 for the complete Metal Method course by Doug Marks. It is priceless, and
I am so thankful that I completed the course while in high school. Doug is a master teacher, and you can watch the DVD's over and over till you get it. You can even call or email him, and he is just a wonderful help. From the basics through the technical theory stuff, right in your own house.

Last edited by lynchfan6; 05-26-2009 at 10:39 PM.
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-27-2009, 12:11 AM