mode backing chords - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:06 PM Thread Starter

mode backing chords

I finally realise that mode is not really sounding to its fullest unless there are chords in that mode backing it up, well I'd just like to know how do you get these chords I mean, I know the major system is like this:

Imaj IImin IIImin IVmaj Vmaj/dom VImin VIImin

so is it when ur playing in A Dorian it goes:

IImin IIImin IVmaj etc ??

im kinda new to modes and I'd appreciate straightening out

Thanks alot
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 10:01 PM

Hey there

Modes are fun hey!? Well they can be cool but it takes a bit of brain twisting to get the idea.

Basically modes come from way back when music was predominetly modal before diatonicism was introduced (music in a key) We even still use the original names for them, like dorian as you mentioned.

You see hundreds of years ago people wrote music in a mode, to get a different sound. But these days when we use modes to solo and improvise we use them to alter the tonality or key of the music.

For example when we see this chord progression: Dmin7 (IImin) G7 (VDom) Cmaj7(Imaj) we could play the C major ionian scale over all of it and it would all sound ok because all the notes in a C major scale (ionion mode) are in all those chords too.