Mode question.... - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-04-2003, 06:25 PM Thread Starter

Mode question....

Hi there. I started learning about modes, yet im somewhat confused. Let me try and explain what i mean.

Lets take C major for example,

C Major Notes

Ionian cdefgab
Dorian defgabc
Phrygian efgabcd
Lydian fgabcde
Mixolydian gabcdef
Aeolian abcdefg
Locrian bcdefga

Right. Now i get that a mode is basically the notes from a spefsific scale, just played in a certain order, like above. All the same notes, just they are, shifting along each time if you like.

But what i dont understand is say when improvising using the C major scale. How you can use modes. I mean, if your using say C Locrian, your still using the same notes anyway, so whats the point? And if you have to follow the exact order of the mode (otherwise it wouldnt be that spefsific mode, right?) then what can you actually do with them? i dont get it... i dont see why you can just use the notes from C major scale, without having to worry about all the modes from it, when they contain the same notes anyway
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-04-2003, 07:11 PM

i'm pretty sure there are sharps and flats in them. i'm learning this now at guitar lessons, my teacher says that a lot of people don't understand them. but a mode is similar to the relationship of a relative major/minor(i think) it all depends on how you use them and what you're playing over. every mode is a relative to another mode.

i hope that helps and i hope i'm right.

somebody want to back me up on this or correct me?
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-04-2003, 07:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratman219