My first build/mod from scratch. - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 07:17 AM Thread Starter

Reviews: 12
Talking My first build/mod from scratch.

I started playing again after 19 years off. I never could afford an Ibanez in the 80's-90's. I got a RG270 in april. I then replaced everything but the body with MIJ parts and seymour duncan PU's. These pics are from my project RG570 body I got a couple months ago. I decided to add my own Herman style grip and I decided to shape the back of the body so I can access the higher frets easier. I wanted to try staining to see how it would come out so here it is. just remember this is my first attempt at anything like this and I am having a blast.

I am now deciding if I want to use the neck and fingerboard I have or replace the maple fingerboard with a rosewood one with sharktooth/lightning inlays. I took a wizardII neck shaved it down to 17mm at 1st fret and 19mm at 15th fret. I did re radius the fingerboard to 430mm but I really like the rosewood look and inlays. I have a rg550 neck with rosewood and sharktooth on my other guitar that I replaced everything on.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 08:01 AM

Reviews: 37
Re: My first build/mod from scratch.

looks good , i was going to put that grip on a jem body too nice. would have been better painted though. what process did you use to make the grip, files ?
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-17-2010, 07:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsfury View Post
i was going to put that grip on a jem body too
Double grip. Now that would be interesting.
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-24-2010, 03:21 PM

wow, great job for your first mod!
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-24-2010, 03:38 PM