Playing- So disatisfied with tecnique you wanna give up? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-09-2003, 04:45 PM Thread Starter

Playing- So disatisfied with tecnique you wanna give up?

Hiya.

Now im not one of those people that expects amazing results overnight but i like to see improvements in the things i do.

Ive been playing the guitar for about 10 months now and i play quite a bit. Since about a month ago i have been playng around 6-8 hours a day, smtimes less (or light tonight, none at all as im washed out and pissed off). Im never happy with my playing, i know people are always never truly satisfied with their playing as they feels somthings always lacking. But im so unhappy with my playing that i feel i couold quite quit, even though the guitar and music is my life, it seems i play for hours on end each day, day in day out and i get nowhere, i somtimes even go backwards. Take a lick i learnt a while back, i can barely play it now, and its not probably even recognisable. I have no speed, no real tecnique, accuracy etc and ive been working on it for months.

I have a freind whos been playing the same time as me, and he basically played scales to a metronome for a couple of weeks and now he can shred like ****, well good enough for his age and experience at least. And here i am, playing my guts out and playing **** loads of excersies, and not getting anything,not even a slight piece of enjoyment out of the instrument. Life is somewhat unfair in that way.

Im searching round for a new teacher atm and hopefully a new teacher will help me out as i dont have any joy playing anymore, just the need and want to get better even though im not.