Point me in the right direction... - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2007, 08:14 PM Thread Starter

Point me in the right direction...

hey guys i've been a mostly self taught player for around 6 years. Mainly a heavy rhythm player. I basically just got a guitar setup and started learning all my favorite bands music and making my own. I always kinda prided myself on being a "play what sounds good" player showing no interest in the correct way to play a guitar. (scales, modes, etc..) Well now i'm kinda changing my tune as my music interests are changing. Were should i start?

Last edited by a_nxiety; 12-05-2007 at 08:38 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2007, 09:22 PM

Re: Point me in the right direction...

Best bet.... Find a good teacher! Let him evaluate your skills and set up lessons based on two things. Your skill level and what your goals are. Good luck and keep at it.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2007, 10:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jemplayer55 View Post
Best bet.... Find a good teacher! Let him evaluate your skills and set up lessons based on two things. Your skill level and what your goals are. Good luck and keep at it.
+1
That's what I tell my friend. He's like you. He learned a lot by ear. But he doesn't know why it sounds good. He asks me where to start and I tell him the same thing that jemplayer55 said.
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2007, 10:34 PM Thread Starter

alright i'll start trying to find a teacher locally. any good sites you can direct me to for now?

sick-boy: yes your friend sounds just like me. were prolly playing all kinds of scales and stuff we just have no idea let alone which ones.