is it possible to memorize music without playing it through an instrument.. - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-23-2012, 04:57 PM Thread Starter

is it possible to memorize music without playing it through an instrument..

just wondering if its possible... ive been playing for 6 years now i play alot of satch stuff and i was just wondering if its possible to look at music and memorize it? im not really sure if it is lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-23-2012, 05:10 PM

Re: is it possible to memorize music without playing it through an instrument..

If I look at music in TAB or sheet music, I can't get a lot of it note for note.
I can remember sections for what they are, runs or riffs, etc.

I can hear music and remember it and play it a day or two afterwards.
I focus my listening and sing the tune in my mind so I know I have a firm grasp on the tune.
Then when I have my guitar, I can hum the song if I can't play it right off the bat.
This way I am my own recording and playback device.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-24-2012, 12:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastian View Post
If I look at music in TAB or sheet music, I can't get a lot of it note for note.
I can remember sections for what they are, runs or riffs, etc.

I can hear music and remember it and play it a day or two afterwards.
I focus my listening and sing the tune in my mind so I know I have a firm grasp on the tune.
Then when I have my guitar, I can hum the song if I can't play it right off the bat.
This way I am my own recording and playback device.
+1