Resting your right hand: a weakness? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-21-2003, 08:49 AM Thread Starter

Resting your right hand: a weakness?

Hi,

Just want to suss out opinion on this. When I play fast alternate picking exercises, I rest my right hand's 3rd/4th finger on the pickguard (or I would do if my guitar had one).

I started to wonder if this was arresting my development, and tried to do it without, and it felt like the bones had been removed from my hand, very wobbly.

I studied a bit of my playing when in the band, practising solo etc, and thought the problem must only occur during these exercises, but nope - it seems that whatever I'm doing, my right hand will sneaky sneaky find a place to rest, whether it be the ball of the hand on the top tremolo edge, or the low E string, and most disturbing of all it seems to really enjoy bracing with the ball of the band on the top E string, and the 3rd finger gripping the edge of the pup, so my picking fingers sit in a little secure cradle!

Now I played classical all my life, electric for about 5 years, then took a 5-year break before getting back into guitar again about a year ago. Due to this I've got nobody really to sound out about it as I know no (good) guitar players, plus I am pretty much relearning electric playing from scratch - so now is the time to sort this, if I need to.

With the classical playing there is no bracing of the hand, it seems to hover quite happily, but that is linked I think to the only time I don't do this - playing chords when the support comes from your hand bouncing off the strings, with the classical, as you form a triad or similar, your hand rests (very) briefly.