Scales and modes question - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

3Likes
  • 2 Post By Drew
  • 1 Post By Formerly Given To Fly

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-15-2017, 12:24 PM Thread Starter

Scales and modes question

Hey there, I have a question regarding how a mode relates to the major scale (Ionian mode). Can I play the F Lydian mode over a song that is in the key of C Major? I'm new to this kind of stuff, so if anyone could explain it to me, I would be thankful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-15-2017, 12:51 PM

Re: Scales and modes question

Quote:
Originally Posted by fouto17 View Post
Hey there, I have a question regarding how a mode relates to the major scale (Ionian mode). Can I play the F Lydian mode over a song that is in the key of C Major? I'm new to this kind of stuff, so if anyone could explain it to me, I would be thankful.
Yes, but that's not the point.

F Lydian and C Ionian (major) have the same notes, so you COULD play a F Lydian scale over the top of a C major chord progression, and it wouldn't sound wrong.

However, that's not really what modes are about. The thing with F Lydian, is that it's still in the key of F, and what makes it sound "Lydian" is the way all the notes of the scale resolve back down to that tonic of F. Notably, it's the #4 sound that it really distinctive to the mode, so try playing a simple F vamp, and solo over the top of it in F Lydian, and really pay attention to how that #4 sounds against the chord. That's what really makes the mode - don't think of it so much as a series of notes, but rather as the sound and colors that they impart, and how that works musically.