Tab Vs Ear - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-05-2003, 09:34 PM Thread Starter

Tab Vs Ear

I have been mulling over this for a while now. What would you consider your most invalauble trait? The ability to listen to a tune and pick out the notes and play them, Or the ability to read Tab and play anything you can read?

I have to ask because I noticed a lot of people on the forum asking for Tabs for certain songs wheras I would just sit and listen to them and work them out for myself! I'm not being a know-it-all but I prefer to listen to something then read the tab and feel the gratification of knowing that I got it right without reading it first. I started playing to songs on my records before I knew about Tab (Or Even Music Notation) and as a result I am better at picking licks out of a song than I am at learning from Tab.

I just wondered what your thoughts were on which is your prefered method of learning a new tune?

Jay

P.S. I'm not saying that one method is better than another, I'd just like to hear your thought's on the matter

Love and all things Jem

Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-05-2003, 10:00 PM

By ear....most definitely....music/tab isn't always available, but as long as you can hear, your ears ARE.
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-05-2003, 10:03 PM

Ear for 99%, Tab when all else fails for those "impossible" fingerings that my ears can't decipher.
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-06-2003, 12:38 AM

Ear will always be the first choice...it develops one the most important part of musicality...to be able to fine tune your ability to pick through notes as they travel, and make sense of them in your mind, then on the guitar.