Which Vai song to learn? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-17-2015, 11:47 AM Thread Starter

Which Vai song to learn?

Hey guys,
So I wasn't exactly sure which part of the forum I should put this in, but this seems liked the closest match.

I am trying to figure out which Vai song I should learn to play. I have been playing for about 13~14 years, but I have never tried to learn on of his songs before; note for note that is. The reason being, I want to pick up a new guitar (JS1200), but I feel like I need show myself I actually have the required skill to use the instrument. I know that sounds dumb as hell, but I have always looked at buying guitars that way.

I don't want to learn the easiest song on his discography, but something maybe in the middle of the road.

Any suggestions?

-Keith
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-17-2015, 12:21 PM

Reviews: 10
Re: Which Vai song to learn?

Hand on Heart - my favorite Vai song - lots of interesting parts and not the easiest song but not the most difficult from his catalog either...that would be my 1st choice. K'm-Pee-Du-Wee is fun to play too - I've only learned the easier parts but it's really fun to play...
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-15-2015, 10:52 AM

The attitude Song is still one of his greatest. I would start picking that one apart.
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-15-2015, 12:39 PM

The Attitude Song is a good example, but I would also suggest Die To Live.
Salamaders in The Sun, Touching Tongues, Whispering A Prayer for a sensual melody.
If you're into bluesy-fusion stuff you can try Call It Sleep and Tender Surrender.
If you want to rock it, then The Animal or Erotic Nightmares.