The value of Scale Box Pattern Learning? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-24-2002, 11:58 PM Thread Starter

The value of Scale Box Pattern Learning?

Ok, not sure this is in the right section but...

Ok, I started out learning the box patterns and found them to be useful if you wanted to play a box in many different keys, but found it hard for me to connect them. So I started learning whole fretboard keys at a time and actually found this to be faster and gives much quicker results at knowing how to solo solidly and easily with no thought... however there are no boxes to move to different keys so it limits you for a while until you learn every key... so for me, I see the value of boxes but prefer the solid foundation of knowing the whole particular key on the whole fretboard.

I want to hear others thoughts on this and their experiences?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-25-2002, 01:20 AM

I just stick to the grimoire, especially if you like to sweep pick, it outlines the shapes and the positions so basically for you its like connect the dots. The box patterns I like to know, but I tend to think about the dynamics of the shape more. THat helps me play how I want , but not always what I want. lol
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-27-2002, 04:20 PM

are you reffering to the C A G E D system when you say Box system???

IE. Each letter C A G etc. has its own chord pattern and scale layout so in the key of C there is a C layout an A layout and a G layout up and down the neck???