Vibrato - How??? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2001, 07:51 PM Thread Starter

Vibrato - How???

Hi,

I've been playing guitar for about three years now and have always had trouble with vibrato. *I can do it, but I'm not sure if it's right. *It doesn't sound quite as wide as I'd like and I'd like it to sound more emotional, and be able to control the sound I get. *Anyone have any tips?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2001, 08:45 PM

Reviews: 5
Vibrato

Well, practicing bends helps a lot. Also, the most efficient way to build your vibrato skills is to practice it for several hours, in different neck positions (I used to practice vibratos about 3 hours a day when I was in high school). Short and slow, wide and fast, any kind of vibratos ("rock" vibrato, classical vibrato and the killer circular vibrato).

One funny thing... I had a hard time with circular vibratos. I only get the technique right when I learned "For The Love Of God", watching Steve playing it on G3 DVD.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2001, 10:07 PM

Vibrato

Carlos is right, the only way to get good vibrato is to practice it. I used to sit in my room for hours and try and nail Yngwies vibrato (one of the best IMHO) talk about make all the difference, now I can vibrate with the best of them :biggrin:

(Edited by gitarguy at 12:38 am on May 9, 2001)
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2001, 10:45 PM

Vibrato

Some guys that worth look at their vibrato technique:

- Steve Vai (circular vibrato)
- Stevie Ray Vaughan (rock vibrato -- wide, fast and muscular)
- John Williams (classical vibrato)
- Yngwie Malmsteen (one of the best)
- Eric Clapton
- Ritchie Blackmore