what to teach an eight year old? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-04-2005, 06:18 PM Thread Starter

what to teach an eight year old?

well I have never taught anybody and this would be my first "student", I am not a professional player but i don't know waht to teach an eight year old. Can anyone help me?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-04-2005, 06:21 PM

Re: what to teach an eight year old?

Well, chords first of all...
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-04-2005, 11:03 PM

Well with a child that young I would want to teach them stuff that they like listening to, so start off with riffs from songs that the kid likes (whether it be Metallica or Barney or whatever, it CAN be played on guitar). This not only will keep the child interested but will also help to teach them things like chord progressions and eventually scales, modes and arpeggios.
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-04-2005, 11:35 PM

I agree with lyconxero - Teach the kid what He/She finds interesting. I think listening to guys like Vai, Satriani, Gabrels, or [insert the name here] teaches us that formal training is something that can greatly improve your playing, but by all means, it is the passion and the intensity of the player that makes a great guitarist.

At eight, depending on the child, chords or complete songs may ok. At that age, I think I just liked the way it sounded when Brian May did a bend (does that date me??).

Have fun!
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 01:00 AM

depends on how good he or she is, what does he already know chords for the first thing
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-05-2005, 01:07 AM Thread Starter