24bit 192kHz ?? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 06:49 PM Thread Starter

24bit 192kHz ??

hey dudes

ive been recording for a few years now , and ive always had the soundcard set at the default levels :

audio bit driver depth : 16

sampling rate: 44100

but on my soundcard ( SoundBlaster ZS 2 Notebook ) it says it is capable of

audio bit driver depth : 24

sampling rate : 192000

Everytime i try and set my recording software (cakewalk sonar ) to these high figures , it errors and a popup appears saying "Set back to standard bit driver depth as suggested by driver"

I dont know why ... But my main question is , is it worth my time sorting this out , ie , will i get a better sound quality recording in 24bit 192kHz mode ?

LOST!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 07:18 PM

Reviews: 1
Re: 24bit 192kHz ??

I'm gonna give you my answer as an EE and the reasons why you should get definitively better sound quality. A hands on experience answer all I can say is what Steve and Satch said, the higher the better. Satch specifically when doing Super Collosal.I know I read it somewhere.

The Bit rate is the amount of bits the DSP(Digital Signal Processor) uses to store each of the digital "dots" in the Digital representation of your analog(real world) signal. So 24 bit is definitively better than 16 as you have more granularity to represent the vertical changes(amplitude) in the signal.