AC adapter/power suppply question...electronics knowledge? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-28-2003, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,568
AC adapter/power suppply question...electronics knowledge?

My effects unit requires a 9V AC 1.5A power supply. Will a unit rated at 9V AC 2.1 mA be OK?
Greg
gkelm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-28-2003, 08:15 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,479
Reviews: 1
yes.

your pedal will simply draw 1.5ma from the supply... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-28-2003, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,568
Thanks Glen! I thought that might be the case, but wanted to confirm.
Greg
gkelm is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2003, 12:06 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,355
Reviews: 1
Double check your ratings, you typed: "My effects unit requires a 9V AC 1.5A power supply. Will a unit rated at 9V AC 2.1 mA be OK?"

If you have a supply of 2.1 mA and are trying to power something that requires 1.5A you are GROSSLY underpowered. If you're saying you have a 2.1 Amp supply, then your'e ok, I'm just clarifying.

Rule of thumb: Keep your rated voltages the same, never venture outside the specified voltage requirements. Current you can go over but not under. Under current will cause hum and or noise in your unit.

Bamm
bammbamm is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 12:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,568
THanks Bamm...typo. It's 2.1A. I tries this power supply and it did not work...might be bad? The effects unit does work, just not with this ps. I tried it with a 9V 1.3A and it does work, but probably not a good idea, eh?
Greg
gkelm is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 01:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,687
Are you sure it's AC and not DC? That's a little unusual.
microdmitry is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,568
Yes, all of the above is AC. BTW, it's a Rocktron Intellifex Online.
Greg
gkelm is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 03:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,355
Reviews: 1
The intellifex uses an ac adaptor to convert to DC Greg. just for the record. I've seen few systems that use ac to ac converters, digital electronics require DC power as a whole.
At any rate, you now know what you need to have to keep you running.

Bamm
bammbamm is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 05:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by bammbamm
The intellifex uses an ac adaptor to convert to DC Greg. just for the record. I've seen few systems that use ac to ac converters, digital electronics require DC power as a whole.
At any rate, you now know what you need to have to keep you running.

Bamm
Both my modelers - Yamaha DG stomp and Behringer V-Amp have AC-AC.
JESTER700 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 06:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 128
Just make sure it's the correct polarity! I always find 9v adapters, get all excited that I didn't pay $20 for it and just stole it from my phone, and then realize it won't work on anything because it's the wrong polarity. So just double check to make sure......
UVmanMike is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by UVmanMike
Just make sure it's the correct polarity! I always find 9v adapters, get all excited that I didn't pay $20 for it and just stole it from my phone, and then realize it won't work on anything because it's the wrong polarity. So just double check to make sure......
Yeah, but cutting & resoldering the end on reversed is easy.
JESTER700 is offline  
Reply

Tags
rocktron intellifex

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FSOT - Digitech RP-7 with power adapter data187 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 09-04-2012 02:53 PM
BOSS GE-7 EQ power Adapter kelmaur Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 08-12-2007 12:31 AM
A/C Power Adapter for BOSS Pedals rs70chgrrt Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 07-26-2005 07:06 PM
Yamaha DG-Stomp adapter question gkelm Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 05-27-2002 12:20 AM
crybaby wah wah peddle power adapter - where can I find one? FORTHELOVEOFSWIRL Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 07-04-2001 10:30 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome