Acoustic Advice - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-13-2007, 02:47 PM Thread Starter

Acoustic Advice

Hello,
I've started playing electro acoustic a lot more lately, so I could do with an upgrade for my $100 Collins acoustic.

I'm a Tommy Emmanuel fan, so I'd probably buy his acoustic but its way too much for me to pay, so I'd like something with similar specs:

Solid Top
Single Cutaway
Either Rosewood/Maple Back And Sides
Rosewood Bridge And Fingerboard. . .

...O'r something similar, if you guys could give me some ideas it would be great. I have no preference of brand or make, obviously it doesn't matter if its the right guitar.

Thanks, Sabre
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-13-2007, 03:11 PM

Re: Acoustic Advice

I'm no acoustic expert but Takamine and Seagull make some good guitars that won't break the bank. There is of course LOTS of brands out there. Best to shop around and play some until one speaks to you. Good luck.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-13-2007, 03:37 PM

Reviews: 18

Sabre,

It all depends on how much you want to spend. This is what Tommy said in a interview:

Taken from: http://www.modernguitars.com/archives/002881.html

I know that you play Australia's Maton guitars, but I see on your album that there's a guitar called the Travis Williams Dreadnought.

Tommy Emmanuel: Travis is a friend of mine, and he lives somewhere between Oklahoma City and Dallas, Texas. He lives down that way. I don't know exactly where it is that he lives. He just calls me from time to time. I've got two of his guitars. He builds acoustic guitars specifically with that big bottom end that Merle Travis got out of his Martin. And I just like the sound of it, you know? I just mic'ed it up on that track, too. There were just two mics on the guitar, and I just played straight down."