ADA MP-1 preamps - Page 4 - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #46 of 54 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 11:21 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 273
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

Sorry to bump this thread again....

Wanna ask, is the ADA MP-1 able to do satch like tones?
MetalZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 54 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 99
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

MP-1 is hell of a preamp. As many said, get a nice power amp (even a tube one), and a 4x12, then you're set!

A midi footswitch doesn't hurt, either.
rummy is offline  
post #48 of 54 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posts: 312
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

It can deffinatly do satch tones. Similar to the Flying In A Blue Dream and Surfing With An Alien tones.
maliciousteve is offline  
post #49 of 54 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 12:30 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 273
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

ooo... thanks for that reply. i like that.
I'm seriously considering getting one. My first piece of rack gear...
what sort of power amp should I pair it with? in the future i'm thinking of pairing it with a custom poweramp from www.ceriatone.com (they're based in my country).
MetalZone is offline  
post #50 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-01-2006, 03:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK.
Posts: 306
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

Apologies if this has already been mentioned but the downside of the MP-1 is that there is a delay when switching between presets. Nuno/Vito etc had more than 1 MP-1 in their rigs and they switched unit when they wanted to change their preset e.g. mp1 #1 = lead tone mp1 #2 = rhythm tone mp1 #3 = clean tone....

You can get around it to some extent by running some delay in the mix but its not totally convincing...

Just something to consider. If you want a nu-metal 7 string crunch really you should be looking at one of the mods at www.adadepot.com like the 3TM. The stock unit is more of your 80's metal tone - think Loudness, Vito, Nuno.

Hope this helps.
strat110 is offline  
post #51 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-01-2006, 03:40 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 273
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

How long is the delay normally? My main worry is that they break down live... but then I can't afford anything else. The Triaxis is just too expensive

Last edited by MetalZone; 11-01-2006 at 03:51 PM.
MetalZone is offline  
post #52 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 10:02 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,355
Reviews: 1
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

They all have some inherent patch change delay.
You have to realize that these things are digitally controlled preamps that have to adjust the bias, eq, and tone settings in the push of a button.
You adjust to it after a while and can learn to anticipate how it will react when you change patches. It is a minor issue and any preamp will have it. (with the exception of the Soldano servo controlled preamp, there are motorized pots that auto adjust on a patch change)
bammbamm is offline  
post #53 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 11:39 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 273
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

I read on adadepot and yeah, it does have a tiny delay switching between patches. switching between clean tube and distortion there's a longer delay, but solid state clean and distortion is fine. now just who would let go to me an MP-1.

You're referring to the soldano X99 midi preamp right? how much do these sell second hand? EDIT: i saw on evilbay someone sold it for 2400USD... man thats expensive...
MetalZone is offline  
post #54 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 12:49 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 667
Re: ADA MP-1 preamps

I've got 6 of them (some need some repair work). I have two with the 3.666 mod. The rest are all stock. I have parts on order (about 90% of what I need) to do enough modifications for 10 3.666 mods, 10 noise mods, 4 top switch mods, 10 rear jack mods, 10 f/x loop mods and 2 Mark IV mods.
mfergel is offline  
Reply

Tags
alex skolnick , clean tone , combo amp , fender twin , marshall jmp , midi foot , nuno bettencourt , peavey rockmaster , power amp , rack setup , rocktron piranha , roland jazz chorus , satch tone , stephen carpenter , string guitars , tube amp , tube power amp , tube tone

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: The following Preamps leec Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 05-26-2008 05:52 PM
Preamps NNS Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 33 12-03-2006 03:06 PM
Preamps razorsuppository Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 03-18-2006 11:40 AM
Focusrite mic preamps: how they compare to real tube preamps SilverSurfer2 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 11 12-18-2003 05:35 PM
Preamps Vaiworship Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 11-01-2001 08:49 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome