Amp Problems :( - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 09:59 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy Amp Problems :(

Hey guys I'm new here!

I've been having trouble with my amp lately and I am trying to figure out whats wrong with it.

I have a Hughes and Kettner Switchblade 100W Head. I bought it used and for the first little while things were fine. The other night I turned it on and there was nothing but an extremely loud low pitched hum. When the amp is in standby the hum goes away, and when I turn up the volume the hum gets louder. If the amp is up loud enough, the guitar barely cuts through but is crackled and muffled. The hum is present whether there is anything in the input or not. I'm just wondering if anyone could tell me what the problem could be. This is my first tube amp and im still a noob

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 10:03 PM

Re: Amp Problems :(

try reseating the tubes, try replacing the speaker and power lead - if these don't solve your issue, I think you are off to a decent amp tech. Tube amps have very high voltages floating around in them, and power supply capacitors which can hold a very significant charge for several days after the amp is switched off, so if you don't know EXACTLY what you are doing, you are best not to fiddle with the innards of a tube amp, or any mains powered device for that matter!
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 12:30 AM Thread Starter

Is there anywhere you could point me to to help with that process. Like i said i'm pretty new to tube amps and don't know how to do a lot of those things.

Thanks
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 05:40 AM

Reviews: 65