Anyone using VHT? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 978
Reviews: 4
Anyone using VHT?

Not the new crap Chinese VHT's, the originals. I just picked up a 1997 Pitbull 45 head. So far so good. Any advice on getting more gain is always helpful.
dccomputersa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 02:01 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Re: Anyone using VHT?

Hey there,
you lucky guy, congrats, the PB 45 are amazing,
i'm using a Pittbull 45 2x10" Combo.

It's the best Amp i've ever owned, such a nice tone, especially the clean channel is said to be the best clean chan of all VHT (Fryette) Amps.

But i also agree, that it has limited amount of gain. I could have my PB modded by Frank Finkhšuser in Germany, i already contacted him, but i'm not sure yet.

I'm using a Tubescreamer in front of it, that gives me enough gain, but with Boost always enabled. It would be cool if i could use the boost just for soloing, but at the moment i have the sound of my dreams

If the Fryette guys could mod them, so they also have the lo-high gain switch of their current amp line, that would be really awesome...


regards,
Daniel
Devo10 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-28-2010, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 781
Reviews: 3
Re: Anyone using VHT?

I wish I could...
vy100 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-29-2010, 02:48 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 978
Reviews: 4
Talking Re: Anyone using VHT?

Mine was surprisingly affordable, somewhere around $600 shipped. Not bad for a USA Made head.
dccomputersa is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-30-2010, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Stockholm SWEDEN
Posts: 126
Re: Anyone using VHT?

I have a 2502 power amp, best one around IMO.
Platypus is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 02:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 978
Reviews: 4
Re: Anyone using VHT?

Nice!1 I am using a Marshall Powerbloc 9200 in my rack. Works great, but I would love to try the VHT.
dccomputersa is offline  
Reply

Tags
vht

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome