Axe-FX II - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-23-2011, 05:04 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 250
Axe-FX II

Hey,

So I was reading across my feeds for today and I saw this guy selling his Axe-FX Ultra for 1400 eur. Funny, as last week I found out that the Axe-FX II is coming out and already in pre-order for slightly more than what the Axe-FX Ultra was selling for new.

In fact if you go to Fractal audio's website, the old Axe-FX is not even there. I assume it has been plain and simple discontinued.

I couldn't help thinking that nobody would give away an Axe-FX Ultra for less than some good 1800 eur, but now that the new one is on sale for around 2200 eur new, the price of the old ones go down quite a bit, and may go down even more.
Also may this serve as a "warning" for the guys that suddenly see a cheap Axe-FX Ultra, go for it and a few days later find out that version II is out and they then regret not having gone for that instead.

So I guess the Axe-FX does behave like a tech gadget / software in the end... if a new model comes out, the previous one loses market value. In a few years the sim technology will have gone leaps and bounds so the Axe-FX Ultra will be worth even less. Unlike your good quality boutique amp

But well I can't talk much as I own a mere Pod X3 lol!
Guess I can blame my neighbours for it...
mindwalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-23-2011, 06:20 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,614
Re: Axe-FX II

Quote:
Originally Posted by mindwalker View Post
(...) Axe-FX Ultra will be worth even less. Unlike your good quality boutique amp
You mean, sell the boutique amps and buy an Ultra or an Axe-FX II? That's probably what I would do if I had to choose. No question, the mk II will probably sound "better" (whatever that is) due to more power. The Ultra will still sound as good as it did a month ago.
The Euphor is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-23-2011, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 250
Re: Axe-FX II

Totally, the Axe-FX Ultra will still sound as good as 1 month ago. But if you want to have the latest toy, then it's not going to be good enough . On the other hand a good old amplifier will not lose it's market value. Look at a the Mesa Mark series for example. You don't get a good Mark IV for less than 2000 eur.

But anyway there's some Axe-FX II soundclips out and about already on the internet. Sounds good to me but I guess unless you play the thing, it's going to sound the same as any other modeler around. There's a few samples in this thread http://forum.fractalaudio.com/axe-fx...testers-2.html
mindwalker is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-23-2011, 08:59 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Serbia
Posts: 576
Reviews: 2
Re: Axe-FX II

And another thing. This is basically a computer packed inside a rack chassis. Most computers don't last very long. Well built amps on the other hand can go on forever with occasional tube and cap swap.
bancika is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-28-2011, 08:52 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Axe-FX II

I'm very interested in finding out what that RJ-45 connector in the back will do aside from the "expansion" feature. It seems to me that the AXE FXII will work quite nicely with the Roland FC-300 board using a Cat 5 cable.

"The Axe-Fx II features a all-new dedicated control port for connecting an MFC-101 MIDI Foot Controller via that unit's EXPANSION port. Readily available CAT5 (Ethernet) cable provides bi-directional communications over lengths of 100 meters or more, PLUS phantom power from the built-in power supply of the Axe-Fx II. (Traditional 5 or 7-pin MIDI and power are still supported for Luddites and 3rd party pedalboards.)"




If what I'm reading is true, then I might be selling my GT-Pro and buying an Axe FX II.

Jimmy

Last edited by jb4674; 05-28-2011 at 09:39 PM.
jb4674 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2011, 10:09 AM
 
shredmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,494
Re: Axe-FX II

mindwalker, you have the x3 pro rackmount? that is something i was looking at getting. i have the original pod pro rack. what do you think of the tones in the x3?
shredmaster is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-17-2011, 06:46 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 250
Re: Axe-FX II

Quote:
Originally Posted by shredmaster View Post
mindwalker, you have the x3 pro rackmount? that is something i was looking at getting. i have the original pod pro rack. what do you think of the tones in the x3?
Hey mate, I have the X3 live. But it should crank out the same tones as the x3 rackmount.

As for the tones.. to be honest I play mostly the modern amps. When doing so, I can't tell much difference between a guitar with V8, Ibz/DiMrz or Real Dimarzios. It just sounds the same to me through some headphone studio monitors. But I think for playing around at home, or being in a cover band it's pretty versatile. But then a lot of it is due to the hands of the player... I've seen great tones coming out even from the Pod XT (previous model) whereas I couldn't get them on my X3 live.

To me, and especially for vintage tones, I find the X3 doesn't react so well to volume changes and dynamics... using a modern amplifier model and rolling back the volume, I can't get this creamy slightly over driven top tone. (think Andy Timmons, electric gipsy). But maybe it's my fault though.

But the POX X3 isn't for sale anymore so I'd recommend you to look at the POD HD, however it has no rack mount version. But if you have a friend with an X3, you can check the tones yourself... the rackmount should sound the same and then you just need to snag one off eBay.

Hope it helped
mindwalker is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-17-2011, 09:17 AM
 
shredmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,494
Re: Axe-FX II

mindwalker, that helped quite a bit thanks! my thoughts are to get the x3 rack to my mesa fifty fifty, or sell the mesa and get the line 6 / bogner head. i heard great things. thanks again! i may get that pod hd to noodle around with as i will be bringing my guitar to work for practice during lunch. rumor has it there will be a line 6 hd rack to replace the x3...wish i knew when
shredmaster is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-17-2011, 04:36 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland OH
Posts: 1,142
Reviews: 59
Re: Axe-FX II

One other option might be to pick up that HD500 and the new Line6 DT50 amp. Just another option to consider....
smooth55 is offline  
Reply

Tags
axe-fx , axe-fx ii , axe-fx ultra

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome