Best amp for under £200? Will be used for pub/club gigs - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-16-2004, 11:42 AM Thread Starter

Best amp for under £200? Will be used for pub/club gigs

Ok , my setup consists of:
Stock Ibanez RG1550
Boss HM-2 distortion
Boss CE-3 chorus
(Will add a wah and Boss Delay in there at some point)

I need an amp for less than £200 that will be good enough for gigging pubs and clubs (preferably 2 channels on it)
I've looked at Peavey Bandit 112, Marshall Valvestates 65+80watt, but would like your guys opinions as this is my first time in a gigging band where I need my own amp and you guys are alot more experienced than me.
I play hard rock/metal, and don't want onboard effects other than reverb.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-17-2004, 03:53 AM

you could have a look at the Laney TubeFusion amps, they are hybrid amps like the marshall valvestate amps(valve in the preamp, SS poweramp) but imo they sound much better.

alternativley, and probably a better idea, you could look at some nice 30-50 watt used valve amps. A Laney VC30 would be a good one to get.
The spec for the is here http://www.laney.co.uk/flash/frameset.htm

you could also save up a bit more than 200 and go for something else
Cornford MK50 head would probably suit you nicely
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-17-2004, 03:55 AM

oh yeah if your looking at SS or hybrid amps you will probably want more wattage, 50-100 should be about right i think
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-19-2004, 06:33 PM Thread Starter

thanks for that. can't really stretch my budget for the laney valve amps.
So looking for a solid state/hybrid really for price/wattage concerns.

anybody else with some input?
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 01:07 PM