Built me a 2x12 Cab... - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-16-2003, 01:21 PM Thread Starter

Built me a 2x12 Cab...

Hey!

Okay, I've finally came around to building my own cabinet for my Peavey Bandit 112. It was a heck of work especially since I'm not that good at making stuff myself . But a buddy of mine helped me and we did it. I put 2 150 W Eminence Guitar Legend speakers in it. Now, however, I have a slight problem: The speakers, because they are 8 Ohms each which makes them have an impedance of 16 Ohms at the input because we linked them in a row. Now, however the Sheffield speaker which is installed in the amp is louder than the others of course. Is there any possibility to change that, so that I have an impedance of 8 Ohms at the input of my cab? Other than buying 4 ohm speakers? Plus, because the sheffield is pretty harsh sounding imo, would it make sense to put one of the eminence speakers in my amp and the sheffield in the cab? Please help, cause I'm at a loss here...

Fabe

P.S.: Although I must say that with the cab i have lots more low end (which I like...), but I guess our bass-player won't like that hehe...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-17-2003, 07:16 AM

You can wire the Eminences to 4 ohms, but I guess that won't help.

The Sheffield probably is an 8-ohm. I'd disconnect it and use the 2x12 cab alone (wired to 16 ohms, so the power amp won't fry).
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-17-2003, 08:55 AM Thread Starter

I was thinking of wiring the eminences to 4 Ohms, but my amp can only use 8 Ohms and up, so that's out of the question.