Cabinet impulses? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 04-10-2010, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4
Question Cabinet impulses?

I just started using cabinet impulses, and I like the sounds I'm getting from my setup.

Here's what I use: Ibanez RG350DX -> DS-1 -> iMic Interface -> Garageband (for impulse plug-in and delay / reverb)

I've read stuff about people using the line out from their amp and then using an impulse, so I'm not sure whether or not that affects the sound a lot.

BTW: What exactly is a pre-amp? I figured it was just something that boosts the single up to a reasonable level. Would my DS-1 be a "pre-amp" here?
PJ14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 07:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 30
Re: Cabinet impulses?

Hi!

Start with "what is a preamp". It's in general an object that is
used between the source and the amp. It's usage is for the
modelling of the source signal (for example add distortion,
make equalization) and set the signal level. You know that if
you give too much signal into the computer (or in general
an audio unit), the sound can distort. In the opposite case, the
signal can be too low so with a preamp you can up its level.

The recording of instruments with high impedance output, like
guitar and basses, need a "preamp" for match the input impedance
of audio units (like mixers or sound cards. Some preamps work like
that or it can be done by a D.I. Box (direct injection box)
that match the output impedance of the guitar with the input
impedance.

People that use their amp, want to use the preamp section of
it for modelling the sound. Some guitar amplifiers have a "line out"
or "rec out" that have the correct impedance for recording. Who
don't have this output, can use the send but a D.I. Box is needed.

You can consider your DS-1 a preamp, but it's not a D.I. Box, so you
need it for recording the guitar better. What happen if the impedance
doesn't match? The input of mixer/sound card work as a filter that
cut high frequencies and high harmonic frequencies, so it alter the
natural sound of your guitar.
fabiophonic is offline  
Reply

Tags
cabinet , imic , impulse , simulator

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Cabinet time! CalledToArms Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 20 05-17-2008 04:39 PM
Anybody in here into Cabinet Building? TAorama Off-topic / Miscellaneous 1 03-02-2008 03:01 PM
WTB Legacy cabinet surfdog777 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 12-29-2005 02:52 PM
Looking for a Mesa Cabinet jemaholic Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 11-04-2005 03:20 PM
cabinet? guitardevil2005 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 05-13-2005 01:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome