Changed my mind about modelling amps(sorta) - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-07-2003, 01:23 AM Thread Starter

Changed my mind about modelling amps(sorta)

Okay, so I've been GASing for this to come out since January of 2002 when they released the info at NAMM. Laney USA was screwing around with shipments(ie, they have like nothing in stock, and don't seem to want to get stuff from England).. So. I cancelled my Laney order and wondered what to get..

I decided on Tech 21, the Trademark 300 head. I love it. 3 channels, each with one of 3 amp-styles, gain, and active tone controls. Dual efx loops(one series, one parallel), a varable boost(up to 9db), all foot-switchable.. Even has a Sansamp Cab-emulated XLR out, with ground lift and db pad switches.

The thing rocks, there's no digital proccessor, so it changes channels instantly(something I hate about modelling gear), and sounds great.. It's not an exact copy of any of the amps it emulates, and the tweed breakup leaves something to be desired, but for death and thrash metal it's very nice.

If anyone wondered what a Trademark 10 would sound like in a head format, this is it. Only thing it's missing is on-board reverb, but I bought a Digitech Digiverb pedal to solve that.. I'm sorta hyped up atm, if you can't tell.

Here's a pic of my new rig: http://acapella.harmony-central.com/...postid=5113186
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-07-2003, 04:29 AM

Tech21 make great stuff....I've used the PSA-1 a lot and I was pleased with some of the recorded tones I got out of it.

But my favorite modelling amps are Yamaha DG amps and the Vox Valvetronix....still debating which one to get.

I'll still be using my Laneys when I'm playing live though
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-07-2003, 05:15 AM