Cheap(ish) amp upgrade? - need some advice.. - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2002, 01:09 PM Thread Starter

Cheap(ish) amp upgrade? - need some advice..

I'm currently using a Marshall 40W valvestate with my JS1000, and although the clean channel sounds reasonable, i'm not too impressed with the overdrive, and the line out socket is utterly useless for recording (more buzz than a hive full of bees).. so i've decided i need a new amp

The main problem is money... i'm a poor student living in the land of high guitar prices (england).. so while a triaxis/2:90 rig might sound great, it's not exactly possible atm ... I play quite a variety of stuff, mainly satch/DT, so it'd be nice to have both a tight, agressive distorted sound as well as the smooth creamy satriani "always" tone. the valvestate is more than loud enough for me - I dont gig much, so it's mainly for home use/band practices.

I was thinking about getting a used Mesa Studio preamp (or similar), then running it through the poweramp in jack on my valvestate.. do you think the solid-state poweramp would have much of an effect on the tone?

Or is there anything else that you think would be better, considering that i dont want to spend too much ()?

Cheers,

Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-29-2002, 06:10 PM Thread Starter

Cheap(ish) amp upgrade?

anyone?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-29-2002, 06:33 PM

Cheap(ish) amp upgrade?

Well, it's a little tough to suggest anything, seeing as you didn't give us a price range to play within. However...