CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP! - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 11:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado, U.S.A
Posts: 152
Exclamation CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

so i bought a 12 channel mixer...

well i was in a hurry and one thing very important slipped my mind...

USB or FIREWIRE...

well i ended up with neither...

this is the mixer i'm talking about...

its a Peavey Unity 1002 RQ-12.

EVERYTHING THAT CAN CONNECT OUT IS SHOWING!

no other inputs/outputs or anything...



so the question is...

does any one know how do i connect this thing to my computer?

it only have TAPE OUT, MONITOR and HEADPHONES!

my friend was telling me that i could use the TAPE-OUT with my MIC-IN on the computer

but he said its gonna sound like sh!t...

and he also mentioned panning drum tracks would be impossible...

can anyone help me so i can use this ancient mixer to its max?

another box that can transform it to USB or FIREWIRE maybe?

any help or advice is appreciated.



thanx in advance!
-Brian

Last edited by Schwarzwind; 08-23-2007 at 11:44 PM.
Schwarzwind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 11:53 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,049
Re: CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

if you have a stereo in connection on your PC, you should be able to use the tape outs without a lot of hassle, but I have absolutely no idea of what sort of input impedance the PC likes to see, nor what sort of level (mic or line level - a choice which is also tied to impedance). Again if it's a Stereo in, I jsut can't see why you can't have a panned drum mix - all it means is that you can't edit that stereo mix, and you are (obviously) limited to two track input for the rest of your days.

Nice looking desk, but you may wish to look at forking out a few bucks for an M-Box or Digidesign interface at some stage in the future - you'd get at least four (maybe five) inputs going at once by bussing tracks to your monitor outs, your tape outs and your effects send and using five channels of a DIGI002 or 003 - food for thought......

You'd have to either monitor post recording software, or using the headphone outs in that case.

Cheers,

David
David McCarroll is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-24-2007, 01:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado, U.S.A
Posts: 152
Re: CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

well the stereo in business is done ordeal because i have a pretty nice sound card on my computer.

but i'm totally new on this recording ordeal, and i bought the mixer so that me and my "band" can start recording stuff for ideas, something to build on.

so my other question is...

how is it gonna work with my software?

say im using Pro tools or Sonar.

would the mixer just produce a WAV track automatically on some random folder?

sorry for the noob questions but i have to start somewhere :/


thanx in advance
-Brian
Schwarzwind is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-24-2007, 01:58 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,049
Re: CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

Nope, the mixer isn't going to do anything without you telling it what to do!

Every time you start ProTools, you get a blank screen - you have to tell it to open a new session (ctr+N from memory) - the first thing that happens is that a dialog box opens up asking you where you want to save the new session to - from memory the default location is in the ProTools folder in My Documents (on a PC, similar on a Mac). you will also have to configure the Digidesign Audio engine to use the computer audio ins as the inputs. When you open the new session, you then have to set up a new audio track - in your case most likely a Stereo audio track - the two ins of your desk will then create a stereo WAV or AIFF file in that track of ProTools when you are recording - that track, and all other subsequent tracks get saved into the same folder that you saved the session into back when you created it.

Does any of that help?

ProTools is dead easy once you get past the initial learning curve - can't recommend it highly enough. Having said that, if I were you I'd definitely talk to a specialist dealer in audio recording/studio gear to work out what your best solution is to get maximum usage out of your desk.

Easy, huh?
David McCarroll is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-24-2007, 05:44 PM
Rip
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pa
Posts: 396
Re: CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

There are main outs. (labeled L R) those are +4 line level.
The tape outs will be -10 line level.
The monitor out is acting basicly like another aux send. Traditionally in a board like this it would be -10db line level.

Dont use the headphones.

From what i just said you can see none of those outputs
are going to work with a "mic" level in on your card.
See if you have a line level in..
or you're going to have to "pad" down the line level outs to mic level.

I wont get into discussing why you need a 3rd party a/d interface.
Rip is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-24-2007, 05:45 PM
Rip
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pa
Posts: 396
Re: CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

1 trick for you with these older style boards.
For the best s/n ratio (signal to noise)
run the channel faders extremely hot..and the main master pretty damn low.
(it has to do with the lower/older end summing busses)
Rip is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 07:16 PM
tri
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Re: CONNECTING OLD MIXER TO COMPUTER HELP!

I have a boss br-8 and would like to know if anyone ran it straight into a laptop for recording. How to run and which lines to run? Can I find a USB to the digital out and would this work? I've tried RCA cables on the br8 to mini-mic input on puter and got nothing. Would it be better to just buy the Tascam US-122? Thanks again.

http://www.bosscorp.co.jp/en/BR-8/ap...n_example.html
tri is offline  
Reply

Tags
drum tracks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boss DR-880 Drum Computer (+mixer) Joscha Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 0 08-01-2006 12:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome