Copyrighting your work - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-19-2007, 04:14 PM Thread Starter

Copyrighting your work

Hey folks,

Ive been wrighting music mostly for myself for about 15 years. I have had one or two pieces for orchestra, string trio and choir performed... and I have lots of guitar music for steel string, classical and electric that I have recorded or written down... For example Im currently mid way through writing a set of studies for the electric guitar.... string skipping, alternate picking and sweep picking (as of today) are now done...

I dont ever intend on making money from any of this but would be seriously annoyed if someone else did ... but would one day like to share it with anyone so inclined

so my question is do any of you fellow composers regularly use a compyrighting service? or what do you do about copyright in general?

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-19-2007, 09:32 PM

Reviews: 18
Re: Copyrighting your work

Check this out Devo,

http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl105.pdf

http://www.copyright.gov/fls/sl7.html

Hopefully this will help.

Jimmy
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-19-2007, 11:18 PM

Reviews: 25

My lawyer friend told me that if you really dont want to spend alot of money on copyrighting your work, you can box up your music on cd and post it to yourself and never open it. Keep it safe and if anyone ever uses your work without paying, you have proof of your music as the post office puts a stamp date on your package which is admisable in court. Meaning you had a copy of this music from this date onwards and the person copying your work would have no proof of ever being the creator.