Cubase Midi Sounds - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Cubase Midi Sounds

Can someone tell me where the built in cubase midi sounds are? I've got SL3 and can only find VST intruments which have bass, synth pads and drums. Do the standard midi sounds (i.e acoustic guitar, saxophone) come built in Cubase or do you have to buy them?
Epicus Furor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 484
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

They aren't there..
Hook your midi up to a keyboard(synthesizer, etc. ) is one option
Virtual instruments are another:

Roland hypercanvas is price effective solution and gets you a full gm bank

Hypersonic by steinberg sounds a lot better
EL-CeeDee is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

O.k thanks that sounds logical, We have midi keyboards at college used in conjunction with cubase so i guess that's where most of the sounds come from, so where do you plug your synth into? Does it have to be remained plugged in if you want to use the sounds or can you transfer them into cubase?
Epicus Furor is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phobos, Mars
Posts: 24
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epicus Furor
O.k thanks that sounds logical, We have midi keyboards at college used in conjunction with cubase so i guess that's where most of the sounds come from, so where do you plug your synth into? Does it have to be remained plugged in if you want to use the sounds or can you transfer them into cubase?
You need to hook it up using a midi interface and then cubase will play the midi information to the keyboard in realtime. Meaning that it won't transfer any sound data between the two, it will only transfer midi data.
Unless of course you hook the audio outs of your keyboard to the audio ins in your pc and record the performance into cubase as digital audio.
3rdeye is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 03:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

sorry for my lack of recording knowledge, but can my line 6 toneport act as a midi interface?
Epicus Furor is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

Would this be able to provide midi sounds to cubase? Does anyone know if it's any good, the cheapest price over here in England is £105.00 . Will i need any cables or interface to connect it to my computer?
Epicus Furor is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Epicus Furor is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-27-2006, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

err hang on i've just found out that software is only compatible with p.c's. I've just spoke to a guy in my local music shop and he said only the budget cubase's have the general midi sound, the more expensive ones like SL3 and SX3 don't have any, just a few VST instruments. He recommended getting a Virtual instrument pack but the one he said costs about 300 .. is there a cheaper alternative? I have a Korg N5 synth with midi input/output, couldn't i use the sounds from that if i use it with a midi interface?
Epicus Furor is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-2006, 05:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 484
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

Sure, just take the midi out of your soundcard or midi interface and connect to the midi in of the n5
Make sure you set the midi out option on the cubase track to the desired setting.
Remember, the sound will come from the n5, not your computer !

Connecting the midi out of the n5 to the midi in of your interface or soundcard would also enable you to record while playing. Just so you don't have to "click in" everything. Once again, set the midi in of your midi track to the desired option. After playing use Quantize ( in the midi menu, or press Q after selecting the part ) to get everything nice and in-time. Do select the appropriate minimum note value though.
EL-CeeDee is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-2006, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 535
Re: Cubase Midi Sounds

Thanks that's cleared up a few things, I think i might go for Steinbergs Halion 3 for my midi sounds and use the Korg N5 as an extra. Has anyone got/used Halion, what's your thoughts? Can you just confirm, that will provide me with all my midi sounds once added into Cubase VST Instruments?
Epicus Furor is offline  
Reply

Tags
acoustic guitar , local music shop

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool new toy--Casio MG510 MIDI guitar! bduersch All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 8 10-28-2003 01:16 PM
Need some serious help with midi - IT sounds soo bad mojo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 8 04-10-2002 12:50 PM
MIDI me this, MIDI me that - The "joys" of MIDI adamquek Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 0 11-17-2001 12:50 PM
MIDI Dilemma - soo many cables so few jacks ellsobrien Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 01-31-2001 04:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome