Digitech RP500 Headphone problem - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-30-2011, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,878
Reviews: 4
Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

Hello. I have had my digitech RP500 for a little over a year. I am having a problem with the headphone jack: The center channel of the stereo is not there - Only the reverb and chorus is there, not anything center-panned (but it is also strangely all mono now as well). I have tried Using different headphones, same problem, Using the mono and stereo outputs to an amplifier or heaphones work fine. I am using the first firmware with the looper, not sure which number. This problem seemed to happen somewhere in the middle of a recording session, but not sure of the exact moment.

I also had a similar problem where when I plugged a MP3 player or other device into the AUX input, the center channel would not be there. Oddly enough, this problem lasted for at least 6 months and went away for only about a week until this new problem above started.

I was wondering which action would be best, If I should start with a master reset, open it up to check for loose connections etc.
fwd0120 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-30-2011, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 149
Re: Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

sounds like a jack problem, if it's still on warrenty, make it check, or ask a qualified technician to verify your system.
modulo is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-30-2011, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,878
Reviews: 4
Re: Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

thanks! any other takers?
fwd0120 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2011, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,878
Reviews: 4
Re: Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

bump.
fwd0120 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2011, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,878
Reviews: 4
Re: Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

Well, I tried doing a master reset. didn't help at all. wiggling the headphone plug in the socket didn't change anything. what now?
fwd0120 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2011, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,878
Reviews: 4
Re: Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

Okay, A bit of an update:

Installed new firmware - nothing.

Beat the thing within an inch of it's life (bruised my hand) - nada

Tried every combination of guitar, cable, heaphones, and even tried reversing the polarity on the PSU - ...... zip.

So, is it just defective?!? Not entirely sure exactly the moment it happened - BUT the WAS a small power surge before the time this started happening, but I wasn't paying enough attention to know if that is the cause, I didn't really catch it at the time, but that just hit me as a distinct possibility.

So where do I go from here? I am 3 weeks out of the warranty, but I did contact them for a very very similar issue days before it would have expired, but recieved no further contact (the said they would call back, didn't)


EDIT: ALSO!!! When it is in the tuner mode, sound comes out normally! could this be a wacko software issue?!?
fwd0120 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2011, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,878
Reviews: 4
Re: Digitech RP500 Headphone problem

??????????
fwd0120 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digitech rp500, boss gt 10 or pod X3 live/HD 500 for petrucci sound? dreamtallica Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 30 12-12-2010 09:29 AM
Zoom G7.1 ut or Digitech RP500 cmd130 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 06-02-2010 09:52 AM
pod xt live vs digitech rp500 fatal1ty39 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 25 01-03-2010 11:14 AM
Digitech RP500 in the FX Return/Power Amp In theapprentice Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 0 09-30-2009 08:20 AM
Any thoughts about the Digitech RP500 Indylawguitar Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 04-22-2009 08:37 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome