Digitech Whammy straight into pre-amp or in fx loop? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2003, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 296
Digitech Whammy straight into pre-amp or in fx loop?

I'm considering getting a Digitech Whammy 4/Reissue, but I don't know where I would put into the signal chain. Put it into the fx loop, or load it straight into the pre-amp. I'm kind of wary about putting it into the front end, since it's not true bypass, and since the fx loop may smooth it out a bit, but I haven't tried it yet so I don't know. Where should I put it?
Drache713 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2003, 03:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seaford, NY
Posts: 169
It should be at least first or second inline before the input to the amp. You should get a line buffer, like a VHT Valvulator to go into first. It will make a world of difference to your signal, and it power up to 6 other pedals.
Gearjunky is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2003, 03:53 PM
deleted username
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,429
HOLY CRAP! GearJunky (a.k.a. ValvulatorGP3, a.k.a Steve from Seaford/Massapequa) actually posted something correct!
Your Whammy pedal should be one of the first things your initial guitar signal hits. A line buffer is NOT necessary, but is nice to have if you've got the extra cash.

BTW- Nice pimping of the VHT product, Valve. You work for them or something? You sure do smoke a lot of VHT pole around here...
Kevan is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2003, 04:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,236
davester1234 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-16-2003, 05:02 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 743
vwall is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-17-2003, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ladysmith, Wisconsin
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevan
HOLY CRAP! You sure do smoke a lot of VHT pole around here...
Thanks Kev, now I gotta wipe my drink off my monitor, my keyboard, my mouse, my window, my wall, my .........

LJ
Patrick Deno is offline  
Reply

Tags
digitech whammy , whammy pedal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Digitech Whammy II Smitty Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 6 06-30-2012 12:46 PM
FS/FT Digitech Whammy RG man Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 01-01-2012 12:11 PM
FT Digitech Whammy (the new one) Splinter8451 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 04-11-2009 04:45 PM
WTB: Digitech Whammy Jaden Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 3 05-05-2008 07:27 PM
Digitech whammy Vaiworship Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 14 10-19-2001 04:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome