DIY Pedal Board Questions - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-23-2012, 03:09 PM Thread Starter

DIY Pedal Board Questions

I was thinking about incorporating four to five pedals into one enclosure. I can get a sloped aluminum enclosure from Hammond and take the guts out of my favorite pedals, solder the ins and outs and mount them in the enclosure. I could have separate jacks for the effects in front of the amp and a set for the effects loop. Maybe have a bypass switch for each chain.
I have no electrical experience but I work with a bunch of EE's that could help but they have no experience with guitar stuff. Without putting too much thought into this, I do have some immediate concerns:

1. Power supply- buy one of the daisy chain adaptors and hide it inside the enclosure or purchase a suitable power supply to supply power and mount it inside the enclosure (I know my EE friends can help me with this one).

2. Bypass switch- What problems would I have if there was a switch sending the signal straight from input to the output? Could I getaway with soldering the end of the effects chain to the same output as the bypass? Would it be different for the ones in the effects loop?

3. Is this too much trouble just to have your effects in one enclosure (but you could get an effects bypass)? Just buy a rack or floor mount effects unit a be done with it?

4. Anyother road blocks?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-23-2012, 09:03 PM

Reviews: 12
Re: DIY Pedal Board Questions