drums: i got no idea what im doing - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-06-2006, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
drums: i got no idea what im doing

i have drumkit from hell 2 and fruity loops 5 producer edition. and i will have cakewalk sonar 5 producer edition soon.

i want to make drum tracks to play guitar with.

my understanding is that DFH2 are my samples. and fruity loops and cakewalk will act as my sequencers.

i will make a beat in the sequencer and my samples will be used to output this.

ok well. since i dont have cakewalk yet lets not talk about that. i have fruity loops.

i really have no clue how to actualyl make this happen. how do i get rolling? i need step by step if anyone can lend a hand it would be cool!
ronnieoverby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-07-2006, 09:57 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

hello?
ronnieoverby is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-07-2006, 10:28 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 667
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Well, I don't have FL in front of me, but you need to add the folder to the list over on the left hand side. I think you can right click and choose to add location. Believe this can also be done through the options on the top menu.

Once you add the folder containing your samples, you would then drag your sounds over to the various buttons and create your patterns.

Personally, IMHO, FL is kind of a pain for doing loops. Maybe I just haven't spent enough time with it, but it's a lot easier for me to do it in Project 5 v.2 and even that program isn't the best for doing it. Guess I like having a piece of hardware in front of me for doing that stuff.

By the way, doesn't DFH have some kind of VST plugin included? Can't it just be added as a VST instrument to FL Studio? Not familiar with DFH
mfergel is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-07-2006, 08:30 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Australia
Posts: 601
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

with fl you will need to add the DFH2 into your instruments (f6) as a vsti, then inside the vsti load a drum kit,

prepare to be disappointed, DFH2 isnt very good imho.
JimmyJ is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-07-2006, 08:30 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Australia
Posts: 601
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyJ
with fl you will need to add the DFH2 into your instruments (f6) as a vsti, then inside the vsti load a drum kit,

prepare to be disappointed, DFH2 isnt very good imho.


but fl studio rocks!
JimmyJ is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-08-2006, 01:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

what about sonar 5 i have that. how can i do some drum stuff in that.
ronnieoverby is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-08-2006, 05:56 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge/Memphis/Nashville
Posts: 3,769
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

It sounds like to me you didn't do any research before you purchased these products. Do you have any clue as to how DAW software works? Your questions are very broad-based as well. "How can I do some drum stuff" isn't going to get you very far. Granted, I'm a beginner myself on computer recording, but I know you won't get much help asking questions like those.
waylay00 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-08-2006, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnieoverby
i want to make drum tracks to play guitar with.
well, i do know about digital audio. i can multitrack with sonar fine. i dont know crap about midi though. can someone please help me use my DFH2 samples to make a drum track with sonar 5??? i dont know how to be more specific.
ronnieoverby is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-09-2006, 01:37 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 158
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Do you want to create drum tracks using loops, or do you want to use MIDI? Let's get that straight first.
Randy G is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-09-2006, 03:07 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Australia
Posts: 601
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

you can do it in sonar but you will need to use the piano roll,

i have recently burchased BFD and im really happy with the drum sounds in it.
JimmyJ is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-09-2006, 05:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 398
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

dkfhs teh pwn!
themaidenmaniac is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 09:46 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Australia
Posts: 601
Talking Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Quote:
Originally Posted by themaidenmaniac
dkfhs teh pwn!

^ dont listen to him...he thought England would win the world cup...
JimmyJ is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 10:07 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: US - MD
Posts: 1,762
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Reason 3.0 with drumkit refill and a midi controller. Easiest way to get realistic sounding drums. I have FL.... it's ok. That's just my opinion.
S-man is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-2006, 06:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 398
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyJ
^ dont listen to him...he thought England would win the world cup...
And they did! Just in my secret little world...
themaidenmaniac is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-12-2006, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Re: drums: i got no idea what im doing

i want to use midi. that way i can make the beats myself froms scratch right?
ronnieoverby is offline  
Reply

Tags
drum tracks , fruity loops , midi controller

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drums for recording Ant1981 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 9 04-12-2006 03:51 PM
programming drums for multi track recordings shredmaster Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 8 06-15-2005 11:37 AM
New Jem Idea Kontalonis Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 8 05-20-2004 05:16 PM
Back Stop-ish, Tremsetter-like Mod Idea (Rich?) CrossingStar Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 10-26-2003 09:51 AM
Brand New Finish - got an idea...need an idea. RSVampire Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 03-22-2002 10:39 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome