Effects loop squeeling - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-01-2003, 07:14 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 98
Effects loop squeeling

Ok i Have a Laney GH100L and Tc electronics M300 effects. When i run the M300 throught the effects loop i get a squeeling noise when the amp is run at high gain sounds, clean its fine, is this a tube going or somthing else, I can set the input level on the M300 and adjust the effects level, but when i get a point when it doesn't make a noise it has sucked most of the tone.

Any Idea's please help

Beavis
Beavis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-01-2003, 09:43 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,416
Are you sure it is the loop and not the unit?

Take the TC out of the loop and check for the squeel again....then use a quarter inch cable connected to the send and return so you are sending the amps own preamp signal through the loop circuitry and see of it squeels.

Those two checks will tell you what portion of the chain is causing the squeel...how to fix from there, I have no idea?
Gresh is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-01-2003, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 98
It only squeels if the unit is attached

any idea's

the unit is brand new

Beavis
Beavis is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-01-2003, 01:28 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bellport Village - LI, NY
Posts: 659
I have three things I could think of:

Is there a switch that allows you to select a loop level on either unit? It is usually labeled a -10/+4 switch. This is may be the issue, Usually, you would select +4 when using rack equipment but really it boils down to which works best with your rig. Some units may only run a +4dB signal level though the XLR ports and -10dB through the 1/4" jacks. If they both have selectable line levels than make sure both are matched and start wit -10dB.

It may also be as simple as an input and/or output level adjustment on the processor. Start low in your adjustments and tweak them until the levels are about the same as when the processor isn't in the loop or switched on.

One more thing that I can think of: Does this processor have distortion in it? I'm not familiar with this unit. If it does, distortions often don't provide desired results when used in an FX loop. I'd edit out the distortion in the patches that have it activated and use the distortion in the amp or through a separate box plugged between the guitar and the amp's input. If you'd rather leave the distortion on in the loop-try lowering the distortion signal level and amount (again, that's if this applies). Hope some of this helps.

Mike 777 Haug
mike777 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Effects loop question FILTHnFEAR Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 12-02-2012 01:02 PM
Effects loop? linuxpenguin Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 12 09-10-2011 10:23 PM
Effects Loop Set-up johliatay Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 05-13-2008 11:54 AM
Effects Loop Help? Jafo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 05-14-2006 09:10 AM
Problems using an effects loop-please help mginty Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 12-06-2001 03:46 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome