Floyd rose question - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-14-2009, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland / UK
Posts: 293
Cool Floyd rose question

Hey dudes


I was just reading a review on harmony central, of the new charvel san dimas superstrats.
A few guys said they will upgrade their Floyd rose pro to a floyd rose original.
When i looked on the floyd rose site , the only difference i see is that he engraving logo is different - but then i noticed the pro has string spacing of .400 inch and the original is .420 inch.

Im wondering, after spending so much on my charvel, is it really worth upgrading , or should i just put the time and effort into the metronome practising, where it counts !

Discusss!
Shredragrammaton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-14-2009, 01:03 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Floyd rose question

If that's the only difference and if your floyd is working perfectly,metronome time!
6fingers is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-14-2009, 08:12 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daytona, FL
Posts: 1,917
Re: Floyd rose question

The So-Cal and San Dimas production models come with a Korean-made Floyd Rose "Special", without the branding on the top of the tremolo(It simply says "Floyd Rose").

The Floyd Rose "Pro" is a low profile tremolo, and would not work on the new top-mounted Charvels at all.

I swapped the trem on my So-Cal to a Gotoh Floyd, mostly because of feel. The "Special" is a decent trem, so if you're not having issues, IMO don't bother.

At most I would say swap the trem arm and holder for a real Schaller one, we did that on my friend's and it works much better.
toshiro is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-14-2009, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland / UK
Posts: 293
Re: Floyd rose question

thanks for the input guys - and toshiro for pointing out the surface mounted point !

TO THE METRONOME I GO !
Shredragrammaton is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Floyd rose 7s NickCormier All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 12 12-29-2006 02:51 PM
Floyd Rose Pro question rrhea Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 07-05-2005 07:02 PM
Floyd rose question Anton Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 08-12-2003 09:35 AM
Floyd Rose Question MichaelQ Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 12-30-2002 01:32 PM
floyd rose question Grunk Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 08-16-2002 03:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome