Good cab for solid low end? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-31-2001, 08:37 PM Thread Starter

Good cab for solid low end?

Anyone have suggestions for a 4x12 cabinet that can take a lot of lows and not fart or flap around?
Right now I have a Sovtek, and its a flapper.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-31-2001, 09:18 PM

I have no personal experience with these but I've heard a lot of 7 stringers rave about the low end on the Carvin MTS Cabs w/british speakers. *They're pretty cheap too.

Of course the typical answer will probably be the mesa/boogie cabs.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2001, 12:05 AM

haha... :biggrin:well try out a recto 2x12 cab...good low end and somewhat dark, if you prefer that sort of thing.
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2001, 12:23 AM

www.rivera.com

...and be sure to check out Tantrum cabs.

http://tantrum.cc/

Custom made to your specs. * Options include a fold-out ashtray. *:-)

EDIT- I almost forgot to mention that the owner of Tantrum Custom Speaker Cabinets is Dave Sullivan. *He's a big Vai fan and owns a couple of JEM's. *Very cool guy.

(Edited by Kevan at 12:29 am on Sep. 1, 2001)
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2001, 12:49 AM

so far my Mesa 4x12 has the best low end...but I've only tried out the Marshall, Carvin, and Crate 4x12's.
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2001, 01:29 AM

Depends what kinda lowend your looking for. If it's like, 'scooped huge low end bass' or just 'clear crisp tight lows' (ie: normal guitar lows).

If you want the big scoop, just get a nice 4x12 and a 1x12 or 2x12 Rivera Los Lobottom. It's a self-powered/crossovered sub for guitar. The things are super low and loud.