Gt-Pro as a hotplate? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-03-2007, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,109
Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

Could I use the gt-pro as a hot plate by turning down the output, preamp lvl and patch level? is this a retarded question?
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-03-2007, 01:45 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 1,056
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

Sounds good to me!
CrossingStar is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-03-2007, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,109
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

alright sweet, because my 20th rg I was going to get got like lost or something at chesbro so Rich doesn't know if they have the guitar or not for me so I'm just getting my money refunded and getting a used legacy head amp instead of another rg. I was going to go jsx but it's still too much money used for me and I love the sound of a legacy still. Also if I want more distortion or anything I can just use my Gt-pro's goodies to make it more bluesy or w/e.
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-03-2007, 02:01 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Richmond, Kentucky
Posts: 3,339
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

Well probably wont function like a hot plate does :P.
sniperfrommars1 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-03-2007, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,109
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperfrommars1 View Post
Well probably wont function like a hot plate does :P.
what do you mean? also aren't there any hotplates that aren't like 300 bucks >_< If i wanted to pay 300 bucks i'd get a cab from avatar or a legacy cab to go with the head hah
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-04-2007, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 397
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

It won't do the same. If you turn down the signal before it hits your power tubes, you won't be pushing your power tubes into saturation. The hot plate goes after your power tubes and before your speakers.
fyrie is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-04-2007, 01:21 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

1. Turning the output down on the GT-Pro will only lower the volume of your signal, so no dice.

2. Hotplates look good on paper but they aren't effective 100%.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-04-2007, 01:34 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: US - MD
Posts: 1,762
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

weber mass??
S-man is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-04-2007, 02:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,109
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S-man View Post
weber mass??
still around 200ish, isn't there anything that isn't crazy expensive because I'd like to get a new cab instead of having to pay for a hotplate >_<
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-04-2007, 03:38 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

Unfortunately, you're not going to find a hotplate or any similar product for less than 200 bucks. If you still want one, try to find a used one through craig's list or try looking for places that sell used gear. Personally, I think that you'll do better getting a cab as opposed to a hot plate.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-13-2007, 03:35 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,081
Reviews: 130
Re: Gt-Pro as a hotplate?

I still love my ROCKMAN power soak...
racerevlon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/T AC Booster, THD Hotplate, Palmer PGA-04, ISP Decimator photios Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 5 03-30-2007 01:42 PM
FS Boss DM-2; 16 ohm hotplate Rudy Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 02-07-2006 08:09 PM
Hotplate Feedback swatguitar85 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 10-24-2003 02:28 AM
Mark IV with THD Hotplate? guitarob Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 06-07-2003 03:08 PM
THD Hotplate Josh Blagg Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 02-15-2001 03:06 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome