Help with freeze pedal power - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 03:20 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: YK
Posts: 482
Help with freeze pedal power

I got a freeze pedal from a friend but didn't get the power supply.
The site says it comes with a 9.6 200mA. It also says you just need 9vdc with 140mA
If I buy one from the store I know to get 9 or 9.6 for volts. Is mA the same as 2.0A?? 2.0A = 200mA? or 0.2?? I am confuse
-Rhaab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 03:51 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

are you really asking if mA = A?
LOL
Yep they're the same, they gave them different names because they thought......hmm people will get confused about it!
6fingers is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 03:58 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,232
Reviews: 120
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

Wrong.

mA is milliamps. 1000 milliamps = 1A
LonePhantom is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 12:48 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 256
Reviews: 12
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Wrong.

mA is milliamps. 1000 milliamps = 1A
+1. And I believe you can still run off a 2000mA (2A) power source, you just won't use near as much power as it's rated for. Someone do please correct me if i'm wrong; but I do use a pedal rated at 250 mA with a 1200mA power source and it works fine.
GroovyTubes is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 09:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,232
Reviews: 120
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

Yes, its always best to have a supply with more milliamps/amps then you need. The reason being, as you get closer to the rating the more noise you may get.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 09:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Orangevile, on, Canada
Posts: 324
Reviews: 3
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Yes, its always best to have a supply with more milliamps/amps then you need. The reason being, as you get closer to the rating the more noise you may get.
hmm, interesting. A while back when i bought my powerall kit for pedals, (which is 2000ma)i plugged my weping demon wah into it, and when i had it on toe up, it made a really bad hissing. i had the same problem with the 1spot, so i tried the power all. anyways, i had an extra 9 volt around, plugged it in, and its fine now. Not sure why it does this
IBZshredder is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 10:47 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

I've never been a fan of the 1spot. IMO, that's like using the Grisswold method to power up devices....



Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-10-2011, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland OH
Posts: 1,142
Reviews: 59
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

I actually think the noise issue has a lot to do with the building wiring where you're plugging in. You may be more likely to get noise the closer you are to the mA that are being used, I'm no electrician. However, I use a one-spot at home and have had no issues with noise and it's powering 8 pedals at the moment with no more noise than when I use 9v batteries or plugging directly into the amp with no pedals in the chain.

That said, I've played other places where I had to go with batteries because I would get a lot of noise with any AC adapter (one spot and individual) that I tried.
smooth55 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2011, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: YK
Posts: 482
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

I got a 9v 800ma adapter (nexxtech) and it works fine, thought i broke the pedal or needed a different tip cause it didnt work but turns out i just had to change the tip the other way cause its supposed to be negative when i had it positive
-Rhaab is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-17-2011, 11:46 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 256
Reviews: 12
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Rhaab View Post
I got a 9v 800ma adapter (nexxtech) and it works fine, thought i broke the pedal or needed a different tip cause it didnt work but turns out i just had to change the tip the other way cause its supposed to be negative when i had it positive
PLEASE check before you just plug some power adapter into your pedals. Most have built in security measures against switching polarity (like fuses), HOWEVER, some older pedals and even some cheaper pedals may not have a fuse. If that is the case you will burn the circuit board up.

Use this picture as a guide:




In this photo, the left side of the photo means the center is positive...on the right side, the center is negative. Make sure your power adapter matches the polarity on your pedal...just to be completely safe
GroovyTubes is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 05:06 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: baton rouge
Posts: 3,922
Reviews: 11
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4674 View Post
I've never been a fan of the 1spot. IMO, that's like using the Grisswold method to power up devices....



Jimmy

True, but I have had the same 1 spot for 7-8 years, no problems yet!
linuxpenguin is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 05:08 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: baton rouge
Posts: 3,922
Reviews: 11
Re: Help with freeze pedal power

voltage = amps x resistance

-> amps = resistance/voltage

if resistance is kept constant and amps goes up....


that means you have a corresponding voltage DROP, using less power, but its far more dangerous to use it like that.
linuxpenguin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F.E.A.R. freeze; PS3 D.M.RG7620 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 0 04-05-2011 10:19 PM
WTB: Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2, BBE Supa Charger or MXR CAE Power System Levi79 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 12-23-2010 01:06 AM
Voodoo Pedal Power/Pedal Train shredder1 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 08-22-2010 02:01 PM
Voodoo pedal power the way to go to power pedals ? Silverburst Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 9 06-22-2009 02:43 PM
Voodoo labs pedal power 2 plus or normal power strip? SilverSurfer2 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 05-21-2009 11:20 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome