Homemade Footswitch - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 859
Homemade Footswitch

Hey, 'yall.

I've been needing a footswitch for my amp for some time now, but I'm not shelling out 40 bucks for one.

So, I've decided that tomorrow, I'm gonna walk down to Radio Shack and pick up all the stuff I need to make it, minus the soldering iron.

Only problem is, I don't know exactly what parts I'll need.

So far, I know I need;
* A box to hold everything
* A jack
* A switch (not sure what kind, exactly)
* Some wire
* ?

Basically, all I need this footswitch to do is switch between channel 1 and channel 2 of my amp. Nothing more.

BTW, can I use an instrument cable to connect a footswitch to an amp head? I know you can't do it to connect the speaker cabinet to the head, but I'm not sure about a footswitch.

Thanks in advance!
Salamander In The Sun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 06:58 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: TAS, Australia
Posts: 1,273
Re: Homemade Footswitch

yeah you could use any cable because it has nothing to do with sound or power which means no need for sheilding etc far as i know..

i'm thinking of making one soon myself..
Ki swordsman is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 859
Re: Homemade Footswitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ki swordsman View Post
yeah you could use any cable because it has nothing to do with sound or power which means no need for sheilding etc far as i know..

i'm thinking of making one soon myself..
Okay, thanks for clearing that up. I just didn't want to make a potentially stupid mistake, and fry my amp or something.

Have you made one before?
Salamander In The Sun is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 07:35 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,049
Re: Homemade Footswitch

I don't think you can do your amp any harm - most amp footswitches basically toggle between one side of a DPDT switch and the other - you can usually use a stereo 1/4" jack and any bog standard guitar effects type footswitch (although I'm pretty sure it has to "toggle", not be a momentary action switch) - a quick look at the actual footswitch socket in the amp should pretty quickly tell you what sort of switch and cabling you need - and, yes, an instrument cable should be fine.
David McCarroll is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-2007, 01:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Versailles IN.(USA)
Posts: 283
Re: Homemade Footswitch

Hey Salamander if you pm me your e-mail address I can send you a pic of my Boogie footswitch and you can copy it.It is real easy to make one.But all I have seen at the Shack is a little cheap box.I got some from a place in Blue Ash Ohio for a real good price and I might have a extra one that I could hook you up with
standing8count is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-2007, 03:05 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 4,924
Re: Homemade Footswitch

I think by the time you get all the parts (those stomp switches are like $10 alone) and the time it takes to make one you might as well have just gotten the $40 footswitch...
Lefty Robb is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-18-2007, 11:54 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,982
Re: Homemade Footswitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty Robb View Post
I think by the time you get all the parts (those stomp switches are like $10 alone) and the time it takes to make one you might as well have just gotten the $40 footswitch...

yup.


i have modded and built alot of my own. sometimes biting the bullet is the best way. and yes it does suck.


rich
rty13ibz98 is offline  
Reply

Tags
amp head , speaker cab

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hafler T3 preamp w/ footswitch. Stygian Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 3 09-01-2006 04:18 PM
footswitch predicament Praetorian Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 12-13-2005 05:50 AM
crazy question about mesa footswitch??? adamcbest Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 11 07-13-2005 03:24 PM
5150 footswitch Chroma Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 06-11-2005 12:42 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome